About the Federal Society

The Australian Society for the Study of Labour History is a non-profit organisation, founded in 1961 to study “the working class situation … and social history in the fullest sense”. The Society aims not only to encourage teaching and research in labour history, but also the preservation of the records of working people and the labour movement. It desires to make history a vital part of popular consciousness and a matter for reflection and debate.

The Society draws its membership from labour movement activists, community historians, teachers, and scholars in many fields. It also maintains close links with the international community of labour historians.

The Society has branches in the ACT, Brisbane, Sydney, Melbourne, South Australia and Perth. Branches are involved in labour history and research, and heritage preservation. They publish newsletters, hold regular talks and conduct special events, usually in conjunction with the labour community. The Society and its branches receive strong support from the trade union movement.

It holds a biennial national conference that attracts several hundred participants. Click here for a copy of the Society’s constitution.

The Society is grateful for sponsorship from the following individuals:

  • Frank Bongiorno
  • Phillip Deery
  • Barrie Dyster
  • Rae Frances
  • Geoffrey Graham
  • Tony Harris
  • Julie Kimber
  • Marilyn Lake
  • Peter Love
  • Melanie Oppenheimer
  • Carolyn Rasmussen
  • Malcolm Saunders
  • Bruce Scates
  • John Shields
  • Brian and Ellen Smiddy

And organisations:

  • CFMEU (Construction & General Division Vic/Tas Branch)
  • Department of Social Sciences, Swinburne University

If you would like to become a sponsor, please contact our treasurer, Phillip Deery, or visit our Sponsorship page.